BabyLand: The Great Diaper Debate

Hey ya’ll! It’s been a long time!

First Off, before I get into this, I wanted to say- I was not paid and or given any of the following items for review. These observations are simply my own and may vary from yours! MMkay!

When Lil Bug came into the world I was living under a mountain of diapers! From my shower, registry and just plain old given to me. Suffice to say- I was set for a few months! I had Huggies, Pampers, Luvs and Walgreen’s brand- Well Beginnings. As I didn’t know what would work best with Lil Bug, this was a good starting point.

Being new I plowed through the name brand Pampers- and for the most part they were fine. I wasn’t a huge fan of the light scent they carried. Sometimes when munchkin would pee or poo it would smell like a strange flower bouquet. I wasn’t the only one to notice this. I often was asked if I had used a scented lotion or powder. But it was just the scent of the diapers themselves. They held up good to itty baby leaks and that’s all that I cared about.

After a few trial and errors I ended up giving up on the Luvs and Huggies. Lil Bug outgrew them pretty fast and we’d had a few minor leaks. As most of these were still full-only missing one or two- I ended up putting these aside for donation. Because let’s be honest, these things can be EXPENSIVE and what doesn’t work for me might work great for someone else in need!

As the end of my stash came into view I ended up switching to Walgreen’s Well Beginnings diapers. I’d done a lot of research in the beginning. Price, quantity and quality. I was amazed to see that while many store brands had bad reviews- Well Beginnings (WB) had some great ones! Many moms noted they compared well or exceeded expectations of the more expensive brands out there. If you know me then you know I LOVE a bargain. Well Beginnings were often on sale BOGO or 2/$13. During sales they would often come in as much as $10 less (and 6 diapers more) than other brands as compared in various stores. With such good reviews and low prices, I was SOLD. Hubs and I took advantage of these sales as often as possible.

Beyond the price, I truly liked these diapers. They felt super thin so I was VERY sceptical. But they held up amazingly. With the exception of one stomach virus we NEVER had a leak or blow out. I was able to put kiddo to bed at 8pm and not worry about changing a diaper until sometimes 3am. The packaging was easy to open for those late night run outs. I was pretty hooked.

This past weekend there was no sale going on and I found myself once again comparing prices. As it turns out, Pampers at Sam’s Club were on sale. A five dollar savings made them cheaper than WB for the first time in months. I ended up deciding to “splurge” on some name brandies!

I really wish I hadn’t. I don’t know what the problem is, but these are NOT the Pampers from newborn days. They are the same brand, but something is off. The first thing I noticed was that floral smell. It’s amazing how easily you can forget that smell until it smacks you in the face again. Ew. The next issue I ran into was during a night time changing. Normally when we do a middle of the night waking it’s because Lil Bug has a huge heavy diaper. Imagine my horror when I slid my hands under her to pick her up and I felt… damp. What the?! Yes, damp. And COLD! No wonder she had woken up and was fidgeting SO much. I thought maybe it was a fluke. But I find myself a week into these and finding her cold and damp with almost every change.

Well Beginnings are back on sale 2/$13 at Walgreens this week. I already texted my Hubs that we are going out to get some.

On a scale of 1-5, 5 being the best for me…

Well Beginnings 4.5 (the blue line indicator starts to fade sometimes..)
Pampers 2.5 (The damp, scented cold is a major downer on the Size 2 swaddlers for me)
Luvs & Huggies 3 ( In all fairness I barely used these, but I did have leaks when I did)

Leave a Reply

