Judgemental

I am really sick of being judged by people. Namely family that doesn’t see the big picture or isn’t around often.

From the Aunt that flat out called my home- to my face- ugly, to my dad and his lady making snide comments about how packed our home currently looks.

Here’s the deal. I had a baby 2 weeks ago. Babies have a TON of stuff. I still get gifts and packages and sometimes I just don’t have the time to go through it all. I live in an apartment and am not in a place where I wish to saddle myself with a mortgage right now. I actually put effort into cleaning and had help doing it- solely for the purpose of your arrival. Believe me, I would much rather have used those hours to catch up on the sleep I don’t get anymore.

I’m tired of feeling like that isn’t good enough. No, my life isn’t perfect- but it works for me. The sooner you all accept that this is how things are- the more likely it will be that I actually want to spend time with you.

1339689504702_9642310

2 thoughts on “Judgemental

  1. There are certain people that my immediate family is aware not to bring to my home. Some are quite OCD, and in their home, that’s fine, and I don’t judge them. If they aren’t coming to share time with me and my family and don’t even notice the house itself, then they really just need not come. I have a 2 year old, and our home looks like I do. For once in my life, I’m ok with that! I feel good about my home being a place he is happy playing in. I want him to have awesome memories about having a good time at home with us. We also teach him it’s important to put things away too, but not to the OCD level. So get a baby sitter, take a little time off for you, take a nice hot bath, and a nice long nap. Everything will still be there when you get back, and no one will die because the clothes or toys didn’t get put away (unless they’re Legos–then you could definitely die stepping on those things 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

