Stoned

Or rather, Kidney stones.

Ya’ll I can NOT win. EVER.

Monday morning around 4am I woke up to an excruciating but familiar pain. Kidney stone pain. How did I know? I’m almost to the point where I don’t want to answer that question anymore. For the past 11 years I have been plagued by them. I’ve rode them out at home, endured horrible bumpy car rides to the ER and even been kept overnight.

So when I woke up to that pain, I knew this time I was going to need a little help. I woke poor hubs up and off we went to the ER. By went I mean, thankfully, we drove literally a block. God bless living next to a hospital. Of course nothing is ever that simple.

I mentioned I was 26 weeks pregnant and instead of taking me immediately I was forced to go up to labor and delivery triage first. So I dragged my pain riddled body across the entire hospital. I stripped down, got hooked up to a monitor and waited. For 40 minutes. With no help for pain. I threw up on myself, twice. I had to change gowns. Finally they believed I actually knew what I was talking about and shipped me back down to ER. The left my husband behind. I reminded the woman pushing my wheelchair about 4 times to please get him. 10 minutes went by, no husband, no nurse, no help. At this point it’s nearly 2 hours since my pain started. I admit, I am sobbing, in between being sick in my awesome blue condom shaped barf bag. I am PISSED. I am upset. I am hurting. They send in someone to register me. This would be the SECOND time someone had come to register me. Are you kidding? Finally at 15 minutes Hubs finally finds me. They forgot to let him in. He finds me throwing up, sobbing and pretty much a mess. A nurse walks by and asks another nurse outside if he needs any help playing catch up. She glances in my room and hubs tells her someone needs to get in there asap, that this is not right.

The other Nurse, let’s call him BFA (Big fat asshat) pokes his head in. I exclaim that I have been in this hospital over an hour and not ONE person has actually HELPED me. Of course being such a nice man, he juts his finger out at me, says I’m not telling the truth and goes on to try to berate me on how I’ve been here “maybe” 5 minutes. At this point I’ve been in his area for over 20. I tell him I want someone else immediately and that he won’t be laying a hand on me. He has NO idea what he’s talking about. Hubs is mad. They send in another nurse immediately.(I’ll find out later that the doctor on call had called in pain meds and nausea medication before they even brought me down from Labor and Delivery and they were made aware my status and that I was on the way). BFA proceeds to stand outside of my room and bitch about me to other nurses/staff and calling me a liar. Hubs goes out and yells at him.

There was a silver lining to this all. Baby was doing A-okay. We had the nurses in stitches over how much she was moving around. And I ended up with an amazing nurse. After I demanded the name of BFA from the nurse I got, I never saw either one of them again. I made it clear I was going to file a complaint over his lack of professionalism. I ended up with C. And C was AMAZING. She was so sweet and so helpful. She too had had many kidney stones and had them during pregnancy, which she claimed was always worse for her too. She was attentive and right on the ball with everything.

In the end I was given the option to be admitted, or since it was so close to the holiday, I could try to go it at home. I chose to go home. Here we are on Christmas Eve, I’m supposed to be hosting. Up until I began to write this, I hadn’t even left my bed. I can’t. My pain level had NOT decreased. My urine output is minimal. I have no appetite at all (which for a big preggo is nuts)and all i do is gag or dry heave. I have barely slept since Monday except following when I was discharged. Suffice to say- Unless everyone decides not to come, I’ll be heading back to the ER as soon as they all leave. Happy Holidays. Looks like I’ll be spending mine in a hospital room. Bah Humbug!!!

Leave a Reply

