Hell-o Hormones

Ya’ll, today was NOT my best day. I am clearly having a crazy pregnant lady day.

I started off trying to find a facial cream. I had been using this cream for a while- it was for ladies going through skin chances. It was AMAZING. I have pretty sensitive skin, so finding something that doesn’t make me break out OR have an allergic reaction is hard. Then they discontinued it! I bought all they had on the sales rack a year ago and I finally just ran out. I started off at Target. Target has everything, right? Wrong.

While at Target I also stopped by the maternity section. I was pretty let down. Not only did the maternity section at this Target have barely anything, nothing was over a size medium. What?! They no longer even have a ‘Womens’ section. It’s currently the clearance hell. I found one wrack with a few tents .. erm.. I mean Plus Sized Blouses. As I was standing there muttering to myself this older woman walks over. Figuring she was trying to get by I walked to the other side of the rack. She clears her throat and says, “Target really doesn’t cater to people… you know.. your size. Extended needs.” EXCUSE me?! I glanced around and sure enough she was talking to me. I muttered something about them also not catering to us women that are expecting. A growing baby bump requires more room than a size medium. She tittered nervously and I stormed away feeling awful.

We left the store and continued my quest for a face cream. Figuring Ulta caters to beauty I tried there, plus it’s right next to Motherhood Maternity. Another let down at Ulta and hubs was getting flustered by all the sales ladies that kept asking him if he needed help. Finally I turned around, stated he was with me and as we were both clearly adults we would ASK if we needed help. Time to leave that place! We walked next door to Motherhood Maternity. Why am I looking right now?

1. I’m a bigger girl. I already know finding normal clothing can be a hassle, finding me sized pregnant lady clothing would be worse.
2. It was right next door
3. This morning my mid range jeans felt like a corset and my larger jeans that previously needed a belt were snug.

So into motherhood maternity we went. There was some REALLY cute stuff here. But, alas, I quickly realized that the Plus sized section was hidden in a back dimly lit corner. There was exactly 2 blouses, 2 tshirts, 1 pair of mom jeans, a HORIZONTAL striped dress and a handful of lounge pants. Uhm… Okay? WTF? Am I supposed to wear the same shirt and creepy wide leg jeans for the remaining months? I stood there and started exclaiming that clearly this was the wall of shame. I’m not expecting to be a fashion goddess but COME ON! I live in Minnesota for pity’s sake. Thing PJ pants and a tshirt are not going to cut it. They didn’t even carry jackets over a size Large.

I’m feeling like a bundle of crazy lady nerves. Helllllpppp

Leave a Reply

