Food Should Taste good: And it does!

Image

Happy Wednesday y’all!

This past week I have been snacking away on my new favourite , healthy foods from ‘Food Should Taste Good’!

—-

One of the hardest parts of getting to be a healthier me is the loss of some comfort/snack foods. I’ve heard all the substitutions and curb craving ideas one person can take. For the most part I agree, there are usually always healthy alternatives to every “bad for you” food out there. But let’s be honest, carrots or celery just don’t have that same awesome taste that a good chip or cracker does. Believe me, I’ve spent a lot of time trying to convince myself otherwise. When it became clear that those substitutes weren’t going to suffice, I began my quest for a healthier version of my old favourites! For the most part every “healthy” alternative tastes fake, card board-y or had a mod boggling ingredients list. That was until I found ‘Food Should Taste Good’.

Image

One of the biggest reasons I love FSTG is because of simplicity. There are no gimmicks, misleading information or just plain of boring food. The foods offered are vegan, trans fat free, cholesterol free, low sodium, decently high in fiber and, certified gluten free and kosher! Even better? Not only do they taste good, but the ingredients lists are full of real natural products. The company, created but Pete Lescoe, in an effort to feed his family healthy, natural good tasting food, is really into all natural ingredients! This is no joke, either! In becoming healthier, I’ve found myself always scanning labels. When I scanned the back of the Original Kettle Cooked Sweet Potato Chips – my mind was blown. Three ingredients, things I could actually understand and pronounce at that! That’s it, three! Even my husband was shocked! Sweet Potatoes, Sunflower Oil and Sea Salt. You can’t get much simpler than that! Granted some of the more complex flavour profiles will have more ingredients, but even then you’ll see things like Stone Ground Corn, flax seeds, quinoa and rosemary extract.

The next biggest test for me was the overall taste. It can look good and sound good, but what does it taste like? I set the hubster and myself up with snack tester plates. I wanted my first experience to be a little bit of everything. In an effort to enhance all the flavours I decided to try a few of my favourite chip and snack extras as well!

ImageImage

 I recieved four different flavours in my package!

The Multi grain: A chip and a cracker! It’s filled with awesome things like quinoa, flax seeds and sunflower seeds. It’s got an awesome flavour on it’s own- They recommend a lemon of garlic hummus for a neat pairing. I chose to mostly eat them alone, but I did pair it with the original hummus I bought as well!

Image

I was pretty impressed. It was thick and crunchy and just had this almost addictive flavour. It wasn’t overpowering or dry like some multi grain chips can be. My Hubster said this was his favourite of the bunch!

 

Next we tried:

The Olive: A power house of 3 types of olives, paired with flavours of garlic and sea salt.

ImageImage

If I’m honest, these were my least favourite of the bunch. They are actually pretty great, but olive is not really my thing. I found their texture to be most like a tortilla chip and decided to treat them as such. I paired Olive with both hummus and a cheese sauce mixture I made. It really enhanced the overall effect in my opinion! Not bad, all things considered.

You can’t go wrong with:

The Cantina: FSTG’s take on a classic restaurant style tortilla chip! These are the best healthy tortilla chips I have EVER had. Hands down. They don’t even give a hint that you are eating something good for you! They have the perfect thickness and crispy crunch that keeps you coming back for more.

Image

I did so many things with these! They totally satisfied my need for a taco or nacho flavour! Crumbled up- they made the perfect pairing for a low fat taco salad. Whole, they were perfect for guacamole, melted cheese or salsa. I feel like with these, the pairing options are pretty endless!

Image

(Seriously a wicked salad! Paired the Cantina Chips with hard boiled eggs, salsa, guacamole, cottage cheese, shredded cheddar on a bed of mixed greens.- I’ve eaten this twice already this week!)

My all time favourite of the bunch?

The Original Kettle Cooked Sweet Potato Chips!

Hands down, these are my winners! I can’t even get enough of these, or couldn’t ,as I already scarfed down the whole bag! Don’t judge me! These are fabulous. They don’t even need or beckon for any flavour enhancements. I love sweet potatoes and have tried to make my own in the past. I was really excited about these and was certainly not left disappointed. They’ve really hit home here. With a crunchy exterior sprinkled in sea salt, paired with an almost chewy inside- I couldn’t stop with these. I paired them with nearly every meal I ate this week! WOW, is all I can say here. Three ingredients round these babies out, making them a power house of awesome.

Image

————

All in all, I was really impressed with this company. Their products taste good, they can easily be found in places like Target, Starbucks, Whole Foods and many other locations, and their ingredients lists are some of the best I’ve e seen around.

If the yummy food isn’t enough, they are really good to their customers. You can visit their website for loads of information and fun things. If recipes are your thing and you want to find a new pairing for your snacks you can find loads of awesome ideas! You can find ideas for dips, drinks and everything in between!

They have active Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest accounts to keep the social media lovers out there in the loop at all times too! If social media isn’t your style, you can be kept up to date with their Newsletter too! Don’t worry- they aren’t email crazy and won’t overload you!

And if you love a good giveaway or sweepstakes, they’ve got you covered there too! Snag a bad with a code and entry is easy! You could be one of the lucky 100 prize winners each day! Pretty hard to pass up!

 

I hope you guys will go out and give these a try if you haven’t, They currently offer tons of tortilla options and four kettle cooked flavours as well!Have you already given these treats a go, what did you think? Thanks for reading y’all!

 

Me? I’m going to go finish my afternoon snack! mmm mmm good!

Image

 

 

Please note: I was given these items to review. All opinions as the product were strictly my own and were not influenced by the company itself. Any information about the company itself was received via the media kit. I was not paid to write this review;
Leave a Reply

