Mad Scientist in the Kitchen

One of my absolute favorite things to do on yucky days, is play in my kitchen! Granted, there are times I would rather chew nails than be the one cooking meals day in and day out. I lucked out this week thought! We grilled 2 days in a row and as I tend to hate fire, all I had to do was prep everything and someone else did the stand around work! Yay!

Today it’s been a pretty crappy weather day. The Weather Channel is clearly on crack. They were saying it was partially sunny with a 10% chance of rain for the day. As I watched that it was pouring sheets of rain, shooting bolts of lightning, and the thunder was SO loud. Good job there Mr. Weatherman.

Anyway…

I was poking around in the freezer looking for dinner ideas. I always hate the last few days before a pay week. Actually I hate most mid week humps because my food storage begins to look a bit sad.We don’t have a ton of room for bulk things other than room temp fruits n veggies. I found this huge pork roast I had cut from a giant pork loin recently. It was huge and plump and juicy looking. Experiment time!

I’m big on flavor. I’m also big on playing around. Recipes can be fun, but I’d rather learn by trial and error! I’ve only had one really bad “error”, and that was only because I cooked the rice too long! Oops. SO, I dug around and found some oranges, a ton of seasonings and herbs that needed to be used soon and my new bottle of grape seed oil. I came up with ‘Orange Cajun rubbed Pork Loin”. Hopefully it’s not too sucky!

 My next debate was slow cooking or roasting. I decided to slow cook this baby. The oranges I used were super juicy so it seemed wise!

Image

2.5 lb pork loin trimmed

 

Rub:

even parts garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, chilli powder and black peper

dash of: cayenne pepper, cumin

1 tablespoon grape seed oil

 

“juices”:

2 oranges juiced

splash of: Worcestershire sauce, cooking sherry, and balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoon juiced orange insides!

1/2 cup water as needed

Set aside:

2 dashes: red pepper flakes, cilantro

 

 

Directions: Mix “Rub” ingredients together in small bowl. Place trimmed pork on plate and massage rub into meat on all sides. Let sit.

Juice oranges into small bowl, scape insides if desired. add additional “juices” ingredients and mix well.

Place rubbed pork into crock pot, set on High. Pour “Juices” over meat. Sprinkle cilantro & red pepper flakes as desires over mixture. Put lid on and cook 4-6 hours on High.

 

As you can see, I didn’t exactly measure this. Hopefully it turns out good!

I am serving this with steamed broccoli in a light cheese sauce.

 

Note: Here it is cooked down and waiting to be cut! Looks yummy! It has a distinct citrus flavor with a hint of heat.

Image

—–

Today was also Day 12 of the Shred. I hate level 2. I understand why so many people dislike it. I am actually full body sore! Even hours after finishing things I am still tired! Yeesh. I can’t wait for this one to be over! I kind of feel as thought I won’t see many more results than what I’ve originally seen. I guess we’ll see. Hopefully I can start getting back outside, if it ever stops raining!!

Meal Plan of the Day:

Breakfast: Egg white omelette with sun dried tomatoes, Chocolate Pistachio Protein Shake

Snack: 2/3 cup mixed strawberries & cantalope

Lunch: Grilled Chicken Salad with cottage cheese + dill dip with carrots & snap peas

Dinner: Orange Cajun Pork + cheesey broccoli

Snack 2:1/2 apple & peanut butter

 

I feel like I’m in more control of myself these days. I realized I needed more than a shake in the mornings or by early evening I was chomping at the bit for more food. We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

