I love you more

I’m feeling sad today. It’s hard not to.

We didn’t get home until well after 2am last night. I’m such an old lady these days. It felt like eternity until I finally got to crawl into my bed. The show was pretty good. I could have done without the screaming barely 21 year old hipsters though. Whatever.

I woke up this morning swearing I heard someone whispering, “I love you more”.

When I was a kid, and well into my adult years that was a thing with my mom. We’d always say goodnight, or goodbye with “I love you”. Depending on who started it, the reply was “no, I love you!” and eventually would leave into ” I love you more and more and more”, until we collapsed into giggles.

I miss my mommy today. I don’t want to be sad and think about all the years we missed.

Image

This picture was taken about 6 months before she died. We took a road trip that summer to visit her family in Florida. She wanted to spend time with her mom and sisters. Into my car we hopped! It was a really fun summer we spent almost 3 months visiting family and friends. We even took a spontaneous mini trip to New Orleans, something we’d talked about doing forever. I’m so glad we got to take this trip. Looking back at this picture though, I see how sick she really was. She’d ballooned in size and was almost always in a wheelchair. She had Multiple Sclerosis, among a million other issues. I think up until this trip our family didn’t understand how bad she was. After my grandma saw her fall repeatedly, forget who and where she was- it because pretty clear.

Anyway, it’s pretty out today. I need to pick up some flowers for my MIL and take some time to walk! Hope all you mama’s out there are having a love filled weekend!

 

I love you more, Mommy.

Leave a Reply

